Oleg Kopelevich (14.07.1940 – 28.12.2020)

DSc (Physical and Mathematical Sciences)

Ocean Optics Laboratory
Ocean Physics

Mikhail Koshlyakov (1930 – 2021)

Main Researcher
DSc (Physical and Mathematical Sciences)

Vyacheslav Kremenetsky

Acting Deputy Director for Scientific Work of Ocean Physics
PhD (Physical and Mathematical Sciences)

Ocean Physics,
Directorate of the IO RAS

Evgeniy Kulikov (27.01.1950 - 21.11.2020)

Chief Researcher
DSc (Physical and Mathematical Sciences)

Soloviev Tsunami Laboratory
Marine Geology

Sergey Evseenko (1949 - 2020)

Head of Laboratory
DSc (Biological Sciences)

Lisitzin Alexandеr Petrovich (1923 – 2020)

Doctor of Geology and Mineralogy
Academician of RAS

Max Barash (1.04.1935-25.10.2020)

Main Researcher
DSc (Geological and Mineralogical Sciences), Professor

Paleoecology and Biostratigraphy Laboratory
Marine Geology

Petr Makkaveev (1955 - 2020)

Head of Bio-Hydrochemistry Laboratory until 2020
Main Researcher
DSc (Geographical Sciences)

Nadezhda Assonova

Head of Planning and Economic Department

Directorate of the IO RAS

Aibulatov Nikolay Alexandrovich (1930-2007)

Geological scientist, DSc (Geographical Sciences)
Head of the V.P. Zenkovich Laboratory of Shelf and Sea Shores
Creator of a separate branch of science - marine geoecology

Bezrukov Panteleimon Leonidovich (1909-1981)

DSc (Geological and Mineralogical Sciences) (1947)
corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR (1969)
thrice winner of the USSR State Prize (1946, 1951, 1977)

Bogorov Veniamin Grigorevich (1904-1971)

bio-oceanologist, DSc (Biological sciences) (1940),
Corresponding Member of the USSR Academy of Sciences (1958), State Prize Laureate (1951), Lomonosov Prize Laureate (1965),
one of the founders of the Institute
Deputy Director (1946-1961), Head of the Plankton Laboratory (1961-1971).

Bogoyavlensky Alexey Nikolaevich (1913-1976)

Specialist in the field of chemical oceanology.
One of the country's leading scientists in the field of chemical oceanology, organized hydrochemical research during the expeditions of the Institute, starting with the first voyages of the Vityaz.

Leonid M. Brekhovskikh (1917-2005)

Outstanding scientist in the field of physics, ocean acoustics, academician of the USSR Academy of Sciences, academician-secretary of the Department of Oceanology, Atmospheric Physics and Geography of the USSR Academy of Sciences, member of the Presidium of the USSR Academy of Sciences, advisor to the Presidium of RAS, director of the Acoustics Institute of the USSR Academy of Sciences, head of the laboratory of Shirshov Institute of Oceanology of RAS. Hero of Socialist Labor. Lenin Prize Laureate.

Bruevich Semen Vladimirovich (1894-1971)

Hydrochemist, DSc (Chemical Sciences), Professor
Laureate of the State Prize, Honored Scientist of the RSFSR
Since 1946 he worked at the Institute of Oceanology, where he headed the Chemical Department.


Mikhail Vinogradov (1927-2007)

DSc (Biological Sciences)
Corresponding Member of RAS

Sergei Voit (1920-1989)

Doctor of Science in Physics and Math (1964)
Professor of the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (MIPT)
Chair of Ocean Thermohydromechanics at MIPT (1967),
Head of the Wave Theory Cabinet at the Shirshov Institute
Laureate of the USSR State Prize (1970)

Geodekyan Artem Aramovich (1914-1997)

Geophysicist, geologist
Doctor of Geological and Mineralogical Sciences, Professor
Honorary Oilman of the USSR, Corresponding Member of RAS

Elena Grimbalova

Head of Chancellery

Dobrovolsky Alexey Dmitrievich (1907-1990)

Oceanologist, DSc (Geographical Sciences),
Professor, State Prize Laureate


Page 1 of 3
You are here:HOME/Persons